You are here:

Cricket/Expert Profile


Ask A Question

Expertise

Cricket umpiring and scoring. I can answer questions on MCC Laws of Cricket but not ICC and other special regulations, which are frequently changing. I cannot answer questions on careers as a cricket umpiring. For details of courses, visit http://nompere.proboards.com (anywhere that has advertised), www.ecb.co.uk/ecbaco (UK only)

Experience in the area

I passed The Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers Full membership examinations in 1961 and have been an instructor since 1973, and examiner since 1977 and have undergone the first stage training as an Umpire Assessor for ECB Association of Cricket Officials. I was Chairman of Training Board for ACU&S from 1981 to 1997.

Organizations

ECB Association of Cricket Officials British Computer Society Society of Expert Witnesses Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Rotary International

Education/Credentials

MA Hons Cantab 1966 DMS Part 1, 1975 Enterprise Reader (rtd), Staffordshire University)

Awards and Honors

Taylor Scholarship 1963 Life Vice President ACU&S 1998

Average Ratings

Recent Reviews from Users

Read More Comments

    K = Knowledgeability    C = Clarity of Response    P = Politeness
UserDateKCPComments
MAHESH10/17/16101010Clarification given is in explicit detail covering .....
Deepu10/13/16101010Thank You Sir
Arpan10/05/16101010Thanks
Arpan09/30/16101010Thanks a lot sir
Arpan09/29/16101010Thank you so much for guidance

Recent Answers from Colin Pearson

2017-01-23 wide or perfect ball:

Law 25.1 "... the ball passes wide of the striker where he is   AND which also would have passed wide of him standing in a normal guard position."    The basic principle is that the striker cannot make

2017-01-10 RUN OUT:

If the batsman is out of his ground at any time whilst the ball is live, then he is liable to be Run Out.      (The only exception is when the ball is taken solely by the wicket keeper which could result

2017-01-04 running on dead ball ??:

The Law 23.1(a)(i) uses the words ".. FINALLY settled .."    It is for the umpire to judge when both sides do not regard it as in still in play.    If the batsmen start running before (or very soon after)

2016-10-17 Boundary fielding:

Law 32.3 talks about "whose final contact with the ground before touching the ball <for the first time> was entirely within the boundary."    I am not clear from your question as to whether your left foot

2016-10-05 Lost ball call after overthrow:

Please take matters in sequence.    Since the ball has not crossed the boundary, then the fact that the misfield is considered an overthrow is irrelevant.    If I understand correctly the batsmen have

 

Ask A Question

Cricket

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


©2017 About.com. All rights reserved.