I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.
I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL
Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)
Occasionally an ad appears on my pages that offers to perform for money a service on a bat that alters it. That violates the trademark of both the bat maker and/or ASA cert. If the altered bat was used in any game of softball it would also violate the spirit, ethics and morals of the game. I have absolutely no control over any ad that appears on my pages and receive no compensation of any kind.
|Chuck||10/18/16||10||10||10||Mark, as always, has a quick clear .....|
|Chuck||09/26/16||10||10||10||Thank you for the quick response. You .....|
Hi Chuck, ASA does include a rule book to every team that plays registered ASA ball. In coed if a male is walked with less than 2 out, (he is placed on 2nd (by way of 1st)and she must bat. With
Hi Wayne, You are absolutely correct, this is a timing play and NOT a force. As long as R1 scores before the live ball appeal of R2 the run scores. This is a very basic rule and a common softball
Hi Mike, Actually there is...ASA 10-3-b Under no circumstances shall an umpire seek to reverse a decision made by an associate..... so the BU has the call, the BU can go to the PU for "help" if
Hi Brian, No, No and No.. She Must step on the pp with her hands separated, once the hands come together the pitch starts. She can do most anything she wants BEFORE the hands come together. If she
Hi Jan, yes if they advance past the base we protected them to, the defense can call an out. However in your OP you protected them to home so no matter were they are tagged they are not out. This