Building Codes and Inspections/Expert Profile

Ask A Question


I can help with code questions related to doors and hardware. I am familiar with the IBC, NFPA 80, NFPA 101, NFPA 105, ADAAG, and ICC/ANSI A117.1. My expertise is specific to door openings.

Experience in the area

I have worked in the door and hardware industry since 1986. I have conducted countless presentations on code requirements for doors and hardware, and maintain a blog related to doors and hardware (


Door & Hardware Institute (DHI) Construction Specifications Institute (CSI) National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) International Code Councel (ICC)


Doors & Hardware Magazine


Vermont Technical College, Associate Degree in Architecture and Building Engineering Technology - 1986

Average Ratings

Recent Reviews from Users

Read More Comments

    K = Knowledgeability    C = Clarity of Response    P = Politeness
Candy06/24/15101010Excellent -- thanks, Lori!
Kathleen06/09/15101010A thorough answer, very much appreciated!
Arslan09/03/14101010Thank you so much for the answer!
Jim Galaske08/15/14101010Thank you very much for the quick .....

Recent Answers from Lori Greene

2015-05-23 Door threshold:

Hi Kathleen -    Sorry for the delay in responding to your question.  It is unusual for clearance under the door to be required for air circulation or HVAC, and it is not typical to have an entrance door

2015-02-07 Query..:

Hi Sam -    The building code only applies when it is adopted by law in the jurisdiction in question.  The International Building Code has been adopted in some countries outside the US.  For residential

2014-12-03 rated door units:

Hi Ken -    It really depends on how the code reads for the jurisdiction where the residence is located.  The 2009 IRC used in my jurisdiction says this:    "R302.5.1 Opening protection. Openings from

2014-09-03 Doorjamb Steel:

Hi Arslan -    In my opinion, a door frame would not be considered structural steel.  Most frames are fabricated from 16 gauge steel - some are slightly heavier or lighter gauge, but would not be able

2014-08-14 interior door opening into hallway:

Hi Jim -    I would have to see a floor plan to give you a better idea, but the issue is the encroachment of the door into the required corridor width.  There is an article here that explains encroachment:


Ask A Question

Building Codes and Inspections

All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


©2016 All rights reserved.