Home Inspection/Expert Profile

Ask A Question


I can answer questions about homes and home inspections. This would include general questions that would, commonly, be associated with the field of home inspection -- plumbing, electrical, roofing, structural, HVAC, wood destroying organisms.

Experience in the area

Owner, President, of King of the House Home Inspection Inc located in Bellingham, Washington. Professional home inspector. Washington State Licensed Home Inspector #207. WSDA licensed structural pest inspector.


Active Rain Real Estate Network; Real Estate Webmasters; EZine Articles


Instructor, program coordinator, of home inspection training at Bellingham Technical College -- part of the Washington State community and technical college system. Member, appointed by the Governor, of the recently created Washington State Home Inspector Licensing Board.

Average Ratings

Recent Reviews from Users

Read More Comments

    K = Knowledgeability    C = Clarity of Response    P = Politeness
joyce08/20/11101010That helps alot. I didn't even realize .....
Ian02/28/11101010Thanks Steven! This helps to put my .....
Barbra09/25/10101010That is what I assumed, but wanted .....

Recent Answers from Steven L. Smith

2013-11-30 roof leak:

Heon,    I think your question, as to your possible recourse, needs to be asked of an attorney in your state. That sort of thing varies from state to state as to what a seller might be concealing and responsible

2012-07-03 Electrical inspection falsified:

Hi,    You have a can of worms there and there is no correct or simple answer. I do not know if you hired a real inspector or a buddy of the seller. If the inspector had a license, if your state has licensing

2012-03-05 Cabinets under warranty with builder:

You would want any business lawyer but, honestly, you are right that it is not a case any lawyer would be eager to take on. In the terms of lawyer's cases, it is small potatoes so you would, basically

2012-03-04 Cabinets under warranty with builder:

Hi,    I guess that, in theory, you should be talking to a lawyer on this one but I will give you my thoughts. Builder's warranties vary from state to state. However, as a general rule with warranties

2011-08-19 subdivision and inspections.:

Joyce,    I can answer some of your questions, not everything. I do not know about subdivision fees in Florida. I suggest that you call the subdivision, they must have an acting manager and then ask that


Ask A Question

Home Inspection

All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.